Teachers and staff were surprised in their classrooms and work areas

Schools announce teachers and support staff of the year for 2021-2022
Posted on 05/14/2021
TOY_SOY announcement icon


Schools announce teachers and support staff of the year for 2021-2022

BEAUFORT – Some very special Beaufort County School District teachers and staff were treated with flowers, balloons and other goodies today as Board of Education members and district administrators made surprise visits to their classrooms and work areas to announce the 2021-2022 Teachers of the Year and Support Staff of the Year.

“This is a terrific opportunity to celebrate the unique gifts of our best of the best teacher and staff leaders,” said Superintendent Frank Rodriguez.  “They represent all district employees who have worked tirelessly to innovate instruction and have been instrumental in supporting our students’ needs in so many ways during this unprecedented year.”

Teachers of the Year are selected by their peers according to criteria established by the schools, the South Carolina Department of Education and the district’s Teacher Forum.  Teachers honored will be eligible for District Teacher of the Year honors next fall.

Support staff honorees are selected by school staff and can include social workers, school nurses, bookkeepers, office managers, teacher assistants, school secretaries and technology and data specialists.  Staff honored will be eligible for District Support Staff Person of the Year.

The 2021-2022 Beaufort County Teachers of the Year and Support Staff of the Year:


Teacher of the Year

Support Staff of the Year

Battery Creek High

Aimee Whitesell

Diane Murray

Beaufort Elementary

Julie Hill

Cathy Power

Beaufort High

Hillary Savarese

Terry Rawlins

Beaufort Middle

Amanda Trimpey

Mary Winburn

Beaufort-Jasper ACE

Shateria Nunley

Kim Wooden

Bluffton Elementary, ECC

Celia Miller

Linda Graves

Bluffton High

Amy Waddell

Cheryl George

Bluffton Middle

Corry Thompson

Kimberly Millard

Broad River Elementary

William Gallagher

Doreen Fields-Hall

Coosa Elementary

Elizabeth Simonis

Nichelle Mcewen -Tyson

H. E. McCracken Middle

Lynne Sunday

Desiree Ryan

Hilton Head ECC

Donna Miller

Dana Stewart

Hilton Head Elementary (IB)

Terri Foy

Bernadette Mouzon

Hilton Head Island Creative Arts, Daufuskie Island

Erin Richter

Aurora Flores

Hilton Head Island High

Oana Bejan

Christopher Sykes

Hilton Head Island Middle

Ann Buckley

Amy Keber

Joseph Shanklin Elementary

Jasmine Cuylear

Buffy Martin

Lady’s Island Elementary

Kelly Breit

Rebecca Kreps

Lady’s Island Middle

Natarsha Glover

Emanuel Vince Dore

May River High School

Laurel Hennessey

Kelly Minasi

M. C. Riley Elementary/ECC

Darren Weingart

Deborah Monroe

Mossy Oaks Elementary

Christopher Crabb

Arinethia Ferguson

Okatie Elementary

DJ Wilson

Christel Valentino

Port Royal Elementary

Maura Krepps

Regina Johnson

Pritchardville Elementary

Malinda Kennedy

Leslie Mildish

Red Cedar Elementary

Nathan Kooi

Bethany Byrne

Right Choices

Donna Wermann

River Ridge Academy

Stacie Gleva

Meredith Larsen

Robert Smalls Intl. Academy

Christy Smith-McCullough

Erick Alston

St. Helena Elementary, ELC

Marie E. Murray

Carmen Bultron-Griffith

Whale Branch E.C. High

Hannah Stevenson

Jissie Simmons

Whale Branch El., Davis ECC

Erica Parker

Roberta Mullen

Whale Branch Middle

Angela Roberts

Holly Mehrer

Adult Education

District Office

Office of Early Childhood Education

Dr. Otis Smith

Jill Maclaughlin

Richard O’Connell

Brandy Majors

Mary Beth Christensen

Announcement video: https://youtu.be/DnggRxvMuy0