Winners were from Hilton Head Island High, Bluffton High and May River High.

District students win regional arts awards
Posted on 02/06/2019
Artwork by Aaron Cardozo

Wednesday, February 6, 2019

Beaufort County high school students earn
recognition in regional arts, writing contest

BEAUFORT – Beaufort County School District students have won 43 Southeast regional recognitions – a record number of winners – in the 2019 Scholastic Art and Writing Awards competition. 

There were 35 winners at Hilton Head Island High, six at Bluffton High and two at May River High.

The prestigious Scholastic Art & Writing Awards describes itself as the nation’s longest-running recognition program for creative teens and the largest source of scholarships for young artists and writers.  Students in grades 7 through 12 submitted more than 350,000 works of art and writing in 29 categories.  Winning students earn opportunities for recognition, exhibition, publication and scholarships.

Hilton Head Island High’s 35 awards included seven Gold Keys, 10 Silver Keys and 18 Honorable Mentions.  The top award-winners – Gold Key recipients – advance to judging at the national level.  Silver Key works are judged to demonstrate exceptional ability, and Honorable Mention works are judged to show great skill and potential.

“To have so many of our students earn these prestigious recognitions says a lot about the quality of our students, and also about the quality of our arts programs,” said Chief Instructional Services Officer Bonnie Almond.

Judges evaluate student artwork based on originality, technical skill and the emergence of a personal vision or voice.  Former winners of Scholastic Awards include Andy Warhol, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Sylvia Plath and filmmaker Ken Burns.

Hilton Head Island High’s Gold Key winners were Tessa Beck for “Melt” (Photography); Marlee Brummer for “The Covered Woman” (Mixed Media); Teresa Cortez for “Fun and Games” (Digital); Julia Clark for “Bubble Bath” (Photography); Anna Mealer for “Sullen” (Photography); Grace Riley for “Wild Fire” (Mixed Media); and Olivia Waters for “Yousup” (Drawing).

Hilton Head Island High students earning Silver Keys were Morgan Caramello for “Light the Way” (Photography); Cameron Duncan for “Together Unstoppable” (Digital); Liana Hutton for “Nongmin” (Printmaking); Liana Hutton for “Secrets of Longevity” (Mixed Media); Megan Kurz for “Pride” (Digital); Megan Kurz for “Connecting the Dots” (Art Portfolio/8 pieces); Megan Kurz for “Red Vendor” (Painting); Anna Mealer for Topographical” (Digital); Anna Mealer for “Off Duty” (Painting); and Kelly Medina for “Deep Eyes” (Photography).

Hilton Head Island High students earning Honorable Mention recognitions were Regina Aguilar for “Fake” (Drawing); Tessa Beck for “Elbow Grease” (Photography); Tessa Beck for “Julia in Yellow” (Photography); Morgan Caramello for “When One Door Closes” (Photography); Morgan Caramello for “My Modern Home” (Photography); Aaron Cardozo for “Color of Man” (Digital); Laura Huggins for “Flower Girl” (Painting); and Jaymes King for “Smokey Beach” (Digital).

Hilton Head Island High students also winning Honorable Mention recognitions were Megan Kurz for “Desk Doodle” (Painting); Megan Kurz for “Girl in the Woods II” (Painting); Megan Kurz for “Building with the Blues” (Painting); Anna Mealer for “Woodland Wonderland” (Photography); Valeria Morales for “Set by the Beach” (Photography); Sophia Nimmer for “Abandon” (Photography); Charlotte O’Fee for “Lily” (Drawing); Spencer Steinour for “Monstrocity” (Digital); Avery Wagner for “Architectural Repetition” (Photography); and Nick Zuidema for “Innocence” (Digital).

From Bluffton High, Nathalia Roca won a Gold Key for “It is Finished” (Painting), and Grayson Short won a Silver Key for “Daddy’s Girl” (Photography).

Bluffton High Honorable Mentions went to Evan King for “Weathered Artifacts” (Photography); Hanna Heun for “Boobers” (Painting); Catherine Mc Lean for “The Heart of Patriotism” (Art Portfolio/8 pieces); and Sidney Rafine for “Piper” (Drawing).

From May River High, Mikayla Luiacono won a Silver Key for “Journey” (Drawing), and Mia Brannon earned an Honorable Mention for “untitled” (Drawing).