Mathematics

OVERVIEW

The goal of Beaufort County Schools K-12 Mathematics is to provide students with the opportunities and resources necessary to develop the fluency, critical thinking and problem solving skills they will need to be “College and Career Ready” when they leave our schools. With the adoption of the 2015 South Carolina College and Career Readiness standards for math we transition to a higher level of expectations that will offer a more focused and cohesive understanding of mathematical concepts.  In teaching mathematics, it is essential that our students build the mathematics content from the conceptual understanding to the procedural understanding as well as receiving real world connections to the concepts that they are learning throughout their years as Beaufort County students. We must insure that teachers and students feel supported as we work to improve student achievement that includes:

  • Delivering ongoing professional development that aligns to the 2015 South Carolina College and Career Readiness Standards, research based instructional practices and resources; as well as the Profile of the South Carolina Graduate
  • Developing a professional learning community across the district to improve teachers' knowledge of content, pedagogy and learning theories
  • Maintaining high expectations for students and providing experiences that engage students in reasoning, problem solving, applying mathematical knowledge and demonstrating computational fluency.
  • Encouraging the use of technology in our classrooms (i.e. graphing calculators) to enhance instruction

All of our elementary and middle schools have access to a numeracy coach throughout the course of the school day. Professional development will be provided to the numeracy coaches throughout the school year to assist the teachers in their building to increase student achievement.

PROGRAMS AND RESOURCES

Several programs have been implemented in order to help our students and teachers reach the mathematics curriculum goals. These include:

  • Everyday Mathematics Curriculum K- Grade 5: Everyday Mathematics engages children in hands-on activities as they develop problem solving strategies through a variety of classroom experiences.
  • STEM Program (school-based)-An innovative program designed to encourage the sharing of ideas across disciplines and promote interdisciplinary collaboration between science, technology, engineering and mathematics through literacy.
  • Curriculum Mapping- aligns assessment, curriculum and instruction

RESOURCES AND WEBSITES


Michelle Gordon
Math Coordinator

Numeracy Coaches

 Beaufort Elementary School
Deborah Smith
Deborah.Smith@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Beaufort Middle School/Lady's Island Middle School
Karen Warren-Pope
karen.warren-pope@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Bluffton Elementary School
Donna Lovelace
Donna.Lovelace@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Bluffton Middle School/HE McCracken Middle School
Kimberly Stanziola
Kimberly.Stanziola@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Broad River Elementary School/St. Helena Elementary School
Whitney Harris
whitney.harris@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Coosa Elementary School/Ladys Island Elementary School
Shanise Funny
Shanise.Funny@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Hilton Head Elementary School
Maureen Kecmer
Maureen.Kecmer@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Hilton Head School of Creative Arts/Hilton Head Middle School
Maxine Chisolm
Maxine.Chisolm@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Joseph S. Shanklin Elementary School
Stacey Sawyer
Stacey.Sawyer@beaufort.k12.sc.us

MC Riley Elementary School
Holly Pinckney
Holly.Pinckney@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Mossy Oaks Elementary School
TBD

Okatie Elementary School/Pritchardville Elementary School
Susan Tucker
Susan.Tucker@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Port Royal Elementary School
Amy Fallon
Amy.Fallon@beaufort.k12.sc.us

River Ridge Academy
Samantha Ford
samantha.ford@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Robert Smalls International Academy
Davina Coleman
Davina.coleman@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Whale Branch Elementary School
Wendy Oels
Wendy.Oels@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Whale Branch Middle School
Alexa Doran
Alexa.doran@beaufort.k12.sc.us