English Language Arts/Literacy

Picture representing English Language Arts / Literacy

Welcome to the Beaufort County School District’s English Language Arts resource page.

Beaufort County School District embraces a comprehensive balanced literacy framework that includes the following components across all disciplines in all schools: reading, writing, speaking, listening, and language within a workshop model. Academic vocabulary will be incorporated into all content areas at all levels.

Beaufort County School District is committed to providing an effective literacy program so that all students become literate across all content areas.  Students must be able to read fluently, analyze and use information. They must learn to communicate, create, collaborate, and critically think in order to possess the understanding, skills, and dispositions needed for successful entry into college, career or military service

The goal of the Beaufort County School District Literacy Plan is to raise student literacy achievement (language, writing, reading, listening and speaking) across content areas with the following four objectives:

  • Implement research-based instructional practices delivered in tiered leveled, literacy-rich environments that include real-world student experiences.
  • Transition to South Carolina College and Career Ready Standards with aligned assessment systems to inform instruction and tools for accountability.
  • Provide high quality professional development for educators to ensure all students have access to teachers who are prepared to teach to the levels of rigor required by South Carolina Standards.
  • Foster partnerships with stakeholders to promote 21st century literacy in all classrooms

Our students and teachers are supported in elementary and middle schools through Literacy Coaches. In addition, Literacy Teachers will be available at each of the elementary schools to deliver small group instruction to identified students. Professional development will be provided to both Literacy Coaches and Literacy Teachers to maximize their impact on student achievement.

It is my pleasure to serve as the K-12 English Language Arts Coordinator.  Please don’t hesitate to contact me with any needs.

Melissa Murray
English Language Arts Coordinator
(843) 322-5406  
melissa.murray@beaufort.k12.sc.us

LITERACY COACHES

Sheryl Mack
Beaufort Elementary
sheryl.mack@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Rikki Fleming
Bluffton Elementary
Rikki.fleming@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Jonelle M Kirberger

Broad River Elementary
Jonelle.Kirberger@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Renee (Glover) Roberts
Coosa Elementary
renee.roberts@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Sonya Elliot
Joseph S. Shanklin Elementary
sonya.elliot@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Barbara Tedford
Hilton Head Island Early Childhood 
barbara.tedford@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Lori Soergel
Hilton Head Island Elementary
lori.soergel@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Karen Cauller
Hilton Head Island School for the
Creative Arts
karen.cauller@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Jo Solesbee
Lady’s Island Elementary
Jo.Solesbee@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Mossy Oaks Elementary

Laura Phillips
Okatie Elementary
laura.phillips@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Susan Seckinger
Port Royal Elementary
susan.seckinger@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Noel Reasoner
Pritchardville Elementary
noel.reasoner@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Cynthia Laizer
Red Cedar Elementary
cynthia.laizer@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Mary Welken
M.C. Riley Elementary
mary.welken@beaufort.k12.sc.us

 Michelle Mathis
St. Helena Elementary
michelle.mathis@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Torey Conner
Whale Branch Elementary
Torey.Conner@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Amelie Cromer
Beaufort Middle School
amelie.cromer@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Leslie Natoli
Bluffton Middle School
leslie.natoli@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Samantha Carnes
Hilton Head Island Middle School
samantha.carnes@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Wendy Blanchard
H.E. McCracken Middle School
wendy.blanchard@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Lyn Dennis
Lady’s Island Middle School
lyn.dennis@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Juliana Smyth
Robert Smalls International Academy
juliana.smyth@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Heather Bundy
Whale Branch Middle School
heather.bundy@beaufort.k12.sc.us